Dapper Day Fall Soiree 2013

Ever since I was a baby, I have been going to Disneyland every year of my life. I grew up watching Disney classics that my sister’s godfather would always buy for us, and I always had fun getting lost in their magic. Disneyland has and will always be a magical place for me. After all these years, I am still not tired of their fun attractions, nor their whimsical world of make-believe.

Last Friday I was finally able to attend Dapper Day, and it was so much better than I imagined! I love that so many people actually get into it and dress up really nice. It was such a great experience and I simply cannot wait for the next one! Some man who appeared to be in his mid- thirties, with a kid in a stroller, actually came up to me at the park and asked, “Is it Hipster day?”  I don’t know about the rest of you, but I have never associated getting dressed up in retro attire and looking all classy as, hipster. 

Being photobombed by Mickey Mouse is probably one of the best highlights of the weekend. I think it’s also funny that I’m just standing here looking all serious, dressed as Minnie Mouse, while Mickey goofs off in the background. I might just have to frame this photo on my wall in the future. Thank you to Rafael Hernandez for this awesome photo!

My Dapper Day Minnie Mouse outfit
My Dapper Day Minnie Mouse outfit

I love my new Minnie Mouse mini top hat! I bought it along with a Mickey Mouse top hat at California Adventure, earlier in the year. My polkadot dress is by Bar III, available at Macy’s, and oxfords and sunglasses are by Steve Madden. I bought my Alice in Wonderland bag in Downtown Disney about ten years ago now.

Sleeping Beauty's Castle
Sleeping Beauty’s Castle

Rafael outside the Golden Horseshoe
Rafael outside the Golden Horseshoe

The lovely Amalfitano family
The lovely Amalfitano family

Hanging outside New Orleans Square
Hanging outside New Orleans Square
Dapper Mickey Mouse
Dapper Mickey Mouse
Cute Mickey Mouse kitchen items
Cute Mickey Mouse kitchen items

Waiting for Esmeralda's fortune
Waiting for Esmeralda’s fortune

Rilakkuma & Korilakkuma at Disneyland
Rilakkuma & Korilakkuma at Disneyland

For more photos of my Rilakkuma and Korilakkuma finger puppet adventures, check out my Instagram account, rilaandkorila

I’ve owned this cute Minnie Mouse locket ever since I was four or five. My parents bought it for me while we were staying at the Disneyland Resort, so it will always hold a special memory for me.

It was nice to run into some old high school friends! It truly is a small world after all. They were nice enough to get us through the fast past lines for Indiana Jones and Star Tours. 

Mouseketeers on Main Street
Mouseketeers on Main Street

It was truly a magical time. I loved walking around and admiring everyone’s outfits, and taking a bunch of photos. I think I only went on three rides total. The next Dapper Day will take place in February of next year. 

I hope everyone has a wonderful day!

To all who come to this happy place: Welcome. Disneyland is your land. Here, age relives fond memories of the past…and here youth may savor the challenge and the promise of the future. Disneyland is dedicated to the ideals, the dreams, and the hard facts that have created America…with the hope that it will be a source of joy and inspiration to all the world.

— Walt Disney

Photos by myself & Rafael Hernandez

Leave a Reply

