Dapper Day Spring 2014

Sitting outside City Hall in Main Street U.S.A.
Sitting outside City Hall in Main Street U.S.A.

I had a very lovely time at Dapper Day Spring 2014 on Sunday. This is only my second Dapper Day event. I last attended Dapper Day at the Dapper Day Fall Soiree event in September. There were definitely a lot more people this year. It was madness. Walking through the park was difficult at times, but despite the tons of people, there was still plenty of fun to be had. I attended with my dapper gentleman, and we mostly dedicated the day to a ton of photo taking.

This year for Dapper Day, I decided to wear this dress I purchased a while back on ebay from user koreafashion2010. I have always loved the bow paired with a Peter Pan collar. I wore this dress with a Spring black bowler hat and black thigh highs from Urban Outfitters. The oxfords are also from ebay, from user shoecafe24. Last year my outfit had a 1950’s vibe, but this time around I think it’s more 1920’s meshed with 1960’s. The choker necklace I’m wearing is by 1928 jewelry. It’s one of my favorites.

Dapper Day button characters by Jerrod Maruyama
Dapper Day button characters by Jerrod Maruyama

Before heading into the park, I was really excited to buy some Dapper Day buttons. When I read Jerrod Maruyama was contributing new designs, I knew this time I had to buy some buttons before they ran out! We were able to pick them up at the Grand Californian Hotel for a dollar each. You can also purchase them on the Dapper Day website, along with other merchandise.

According to one of our friend’s, it’s rare to run into Mickey and Minnie together at the parks. I was really happy we waited in line to get our photo taken with them. What a nice surprise! Considering we were celebrating our four year anniversary, this is a photo I’ll always cherish.

Dapper ladies
Dapper ladies
Rilakkuma & Korilakkuma enjoying the tea cups
Rilakkuma & Korilakkuma enjoying the tea cups

Kaila is such a doll! It was nice meeting her in New Orleans Square. She recognized me from Instagram. It’s nice meeting friendly people that are not afraid to approach you and say hello.

That red tie was a good choice
That red tie was a good choice
Coffee break at Fiddler, Fifer & Practical Cafe in California Adventure
Coffee break at Fiddler, Fifer & Practical Cafe in California Adventure

Dapper ladies & gentleman in California Adventure
Dapper ladies & gentleman in California Adventure
David & Noah share a kiss
David & Noah share a kiss

Waiting in line for Mickey's Fun Wheel
Waiting in line for Mickey’s Fun Wheel
Inside the Haunted Mansion
Inside the Haunted Mansion

Night view of Sleeping Beauty's Castle in Fantasy Land
Night view of Sleeping Beauty’s Castle in Fantasy Land
Inside Sleeping Beauty's Castle
Inside Sleeping Beauty’s Castle

Rafael and I missed the Dapper Day meetups, but we still had fun on King Arthur’s Carousel towards the end up the night. We wanted to go on Mark Twain’s Riverboat earlier, but since we’ve never been to the Mark Twain during a Dapper Day event before, we had no idea it was going to be so packed! The scheduled meetup time was between 2-4, but by the time we got there only at 1:50 PM, the line was already almost to the Haunted Mansion. It was ridiculous. I’m a bit disappointed, because it would have been nice to take more photos of everyone in their outfits, but in September we’ll be more prepared. Despite the craziness and long lines on Sunday, it’s great that so many people are attending Dapper Day now.

A friendly Dapper Day-er in her pretty polka dot dress
A friendly Dapper Day-er in her pretty polka dot dress
View from Mickey's Fun Wheel in California Adventure
View from Mickey’s Fun Wheel in California Adventure

It was such a gorgeous night. Rafael and I met up with some friends and rode the ferris wheel in Paradise Pier. The line for the swinging cages is always a lot longer than the non-swinging. We rode the non-swinging which is what we typically prefer anyways. The view is always my favorite part.

Delicious treats at Main Street U.S.A.'s, Penny Arcade Shop
Delicious treats at Main Street U.S.A.’s, Penny Arcade Shop

Every time I go to Disneyland and stop in the cafe’s and shops to get my coffee, I always want to indulge in sweets too. I try not to spend too much money, however, and only buy the food I really need, but I think next time I really need to try a Mickey Mouse cookie! These look delicious. I already regret not buying sweets.

Main Street at night
Main Street at night
Outside California Adventure
Outside California Adventure

I’m already missing Disneyland, and I can’t wait for the next Dapper Day in September. For more information on Dapper Day, you can visit Dapperday.com I hope for all those that visited Dapper Day, you had a great time just like I did, and for those that have never attended, I hope you can attend the next event this Fall! Have a great night.

All photos by myself & Rafael Hernandez

Leave a Reply

