Adventures in DTLA

Reading magazines from the late 90's at The Last Bookstore that belonged to a Miss Chen. Thank you Miss Chen.
Reading magazines from the late 90’s at The Last Bookstore that belonged to a Miss Chen. Thank you Miss Chen.

Last Thursday Rafael and I finally made it out to The Last Bookstore again. I have been wanting to revisit for the longest time. I was really happy to stumble upon an old box of fashion magazines mostly from the late 90’s to early 2000’s in their upstairs $1 room. I even found one from 1989! Too awesome. The magazine from 1989 had an article about how contact lens wearers are more prone to wrinkles around the eyes. Ha! Because according to them, (I think it was Harper’s Bazaar or Elle) at the time they conducted a study that showed most contact lens wearers tend to squint and they’re more sensitive to the light. Well I have been wearing contact lens since I was 15. I am now 26, and people still think I’m 19 or in my early twenties. Hooray! No wrinkles for me. I will admit though that my eyes are sensitive to the light.

Rafael finally got an iPhone 5S so now he can take much better images in darker locations without having to use my phone. Yes, I am happy about this. I’ve been waiting for him to get an iPhone for the longest time. Goodbye Android. As my friend Emily said about him getting the iPhone, “One of us! One of us!”

Hanging out with The Last Bookstore mascot.
Hanging out with The Last Bookstore mascot.

Anyone that shops at The Last Bookstore gets a bookmark with this guy on it.

Upstairs in the sci-fi/crime/thriller book section
Upstairs in the sci-fi/crime/thriller book section
Awkward forever. Yarn everywhere.
Awkward forever. Yarn everywhere.

I am wearing a Baby Rip Crop Top from American Apparel, hat is from Urban Outfitters, overalls are from H&M, and my shoes are DV by Dolce Vitta.

We matched. Oops.
We matched. Oops.

Before our visit to The Last Bookstore we stopped by to see our friend Jocelyn and get quick hair cuts. Yes, we get our hair cuts on the same day. It’s just easier that way. I just got a little trim, but I am actually thinking of maybe growing my hair out again this Fall. I can’t make any promises, but maybe it’s time for me to have my long hair again. Everyone says I look good with short hair, and I’ve always liked shorter hair on myself personally, but we’ll see. Perhaps it’s time for a change.

View of the library
View of the library

I finally visited The Los Angeles Public Library. Rafael used to come here a lot as a kid, but this was barely my first visit. I had no idea how big it was. Oh how I love being surrounded by books.

I also had no idea they have a little mini installation inside the library. They have old Hollywood photos and some old sketches from fashion magazines from the early days of Los Angeles which I found really cool. They even have a little exhibit on the architecture of Union Station.

For dinner, Rafael and I went to Grand Central Market. This was also my first time here. Out of all the food stands to choose from, it’s only natural I chose Berlin Currywurst. I love Bratwurst with fries and/or potato salad. They have plenty of other locations, but so far the food here is great, and the guys that work at this location are awesome. Their menu is pretty interesting. Because I’m not a fan of spicy food I didn’t get anything with curry, but maybe next time I’ll try it like the way they used to eat it in in the war, bratwurst chopped up and put in a soup/curry bowl. This didn’t become popular until after the war for common people to start eating it this way. It turned into a street food. Pretty awesome.

The premier of the movie Chef was just next door. I wish I could have gone. Robert Downey Jr. has a soft spot in my heart. Of course.

Strolling through Grand Central Market, checking out my food options for the night.
Strolling through Grand Central Market, checking out my food options for the night.
We have a winner.
We have a winner.
Delicious!
Delicious!
Funny photo of the night
Funny photo of the night

On our way back home we stopped at Farmer’s Market too. I got photobombed by the Ice Cream dude.

Before Farmer’s Market we quickly walked through Little Tokyo and I made it into QPop again. Every time I go inside I want to buy almost everything but never buy a single thing because I can’t make up my mind or I tell myself, “You don’t need this!” But this time was different and I finally bought myself some little practical but still super Kawaii items. I’ve been needing a new wallet, so I bought this cute cafe/sweets-style wallet/coin purse by the Japanese brand, Swimmer. What’s funny is that I also needed new tweezers as of the day before I visited QPop, and what do I find there? Tweezers. Mermaid tweezers also by the brand, Swimmer. I couldn’t say no. Swimmer is considered a “Zakka” shop in Japan, which means, “daily goods.” But their products  are supposed to be a tacky kind of cute. For example, who would ever think of Mermaid tweezers? Well, I happen to be a complete sucker for this kind of stuff.

Here is an interesting article I found that gives a quick explaination about the brand. Swimmer

What’s great is you can even purchase some items on their online shop, but if you’re in the area, I highly recommend you visit the actual store because there is a much bigger selection.

I love that the lady at the store gave me a cute little Swimmer deer gift bag to put my purchases in. Swoon.

Kawaii Swimmer items
Kawaii Swimmer items

Goodnight and sleep tight. Do people still say that? Well, I do. Pleasant dreams.

Photos by myself and Rafael Hernandez

Leave a Reply

