Gala Darling’s Radical Self Love July Project

Day 3: Positive Graffiti
Day 3: Positive Graffiti

Last week I started Gala Darling’s Instagram challenge, Radical Self Love July. I normally don’t do these type of challenges anymore, but anything by Gala Darling is always fun. It’s always nice to have something a little challenging and to think outside of the box and focus on what you love in life. Here are some of the photos I’ve taken the past week. I didn’t really have time to do anything for the positive graffiti challenge or go out exploring for positive graffiti, so I settled for making a typography-type message.

Day 1: Silly Selfie
Day 1: Silly Selfie

Selfie’s with my dog, Delilah, are always fun. For Day 2: Your Idol, I chose Gala Darling, herself of course. She has always been such an inspiration, and everything she does gives me so much hope and just radiates constantly with positivity. she isn’t just another pretty face, but a woman filled with kindness and compassion. This is why she has always stood out from the rest to me, because she isn’t just about looking good and making money, she is about helping others and reminding others that through the dark tunnel, there is still light to be found. You just have to get up and keep walking to find it.

Day 4: Reflection
Day 4: Reflection
Day 5: A Self Love Date
Day 5: A Self Love Date

I love to eat. It’s always annoying when people assume I don’t eat because I’m naturally thin, but I pretty much have self-love dates all the time. I am particularly fond of cupcakes!

Day 6: Your Best Feature
Day 6: Your Best Feature

I shared this photo on my last blog post already, but this is the photo I chose for my best feature because I feel that so many women have such conflict over their bodies, but I have always loved my body, and even more so now that I am finally 26. It seems that the older I get, the better I feel and look. I was always teased growing up, and didn’t look the way I do now in high school and in middle school. I was also extremely awkward. I suppose this photo is to also serve as a reminder to myself that I am no longer that ugly duckling anymore and I am in my prime and should love it as much as possible. It’s now my moment to shine and I’m not letting anyone bring me down anymore. Besides the physical stuff, I believe personality-wise I have always been extremely loyal and compassionate to others. I feel like most people on this planet lack compassion and understanding and they often look at others with scorn or contempt. Most people have egos and are too concerned with their own well being or lives. I always try to listen and I always try to never just think about myself. Yes, it’s good to put ourselves first from time to time, but sometimes we need to help others because this world isn’t built just for us and us alone. It’s built for billions and billions of people, so we might as well all try to help each other out whenever possible.

Day 7: Favorite Book
Day 7: Favorite Book

It’s impossible for me to choose just one book, so I had to share some of my top favorite books. I love to read! There are still so many books I want to read by the end of this year. The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo is one of my new favorites.

It’s not too late to join this awesome challenge! Post your photos on Instagram and hashtag with #radicalselflovejuly

Have a lovely week, everyone!

Leave a Reply

