The Devil's Punchbowl & Lord of Griffith 2015

Although I did not make it to Dapper Day like originally planned, I’m happy to say I at least had a fun and productive weekend, regardless. I visited The Devil’s Punchbowl on Saturday for the second time. The first time, I never made it down to the stream, but this time I was able to hike down and  take some quick photos on my iPhone. Since I’ve only ever been here during the winter, each time it has been pretty cold. This time it was sprinkling here and there, and eventually it turned into a very light snowfall, but you can’t even tell in the photographs. It appears to be just another sunny California day.

Rafael taking photos on his new Fujifilm X100T (Our review coming soon!)
Rafael taking photos on his new Fujifilm X100T (Our review coming soon!)

Taken on a Fujifilm X100T
Taken on a Fujifilm X100T

Taken on a Fujifilm X100T
Taken on a Fujifilm X100T

Afterwards, we stopped by Charlie Brown Farms in Little Rock. This place originally opened up back in 1929, and started out as a fresh fruit stand. Charlie Brown Farms is like stepping into a kitschy time warp. They sell lots of memorabilia and novelty items, retro toys, and tons of sweet treats including these delicious mini donuts pictured above. I ordered this with their hot cocoa, which was also really good. They also make their fudge and sell local fruit and honey. They also sell a ton of sodas that you can’t really find anywhere else. I don’t drink soda at all because it’s so bad for you (yes, I’m a health freak), so I was not tempted to try any of the big selection of flavors they carry. But for soda lovers, this would be paradise.


On Sunday I had been planning on attending Spring’s Dapper Day since last year, but life happens and plans change, so last minute Rafael and I went to the final installment of Lord of Griffith. It was a lot cheaper, I’ll give it that, and still fun to attend. I was also able to finally try Bicycle Coffee’s delicious coffee. Any chance I get, I always try to support smaller coffee shops. I was able to take a few photos once again on just my iPhone 5s and this time with a Go Pro Hero4.  

Taken with a Fujifilm X100T
Taken with a Fujifilm X100T
A shot I got of Rafael on his Fujifilm X100T while he took video of the bike racers with his 5DMark3.
A shot I got of Rafael on his Fujifilm X100T while he took video of the bike racers with his 5DMark3.

Rafael and Bobby Sanchez (photographer for Leader Bikes)
Rafael and Bobby Sanchez (photographer for Leader Bikes)

What’s cool about Bicycle Coffee is that they serve free coffee on Fridays. Is this a joke?! No! That’s the great part. They also deliver their coffee by bicycle, hence the name, Bicycle Coffee.

Shot with the Fujifilm X100T
Shot with the Fujifilm X100T

After Lords of Griffith we stopped at The Grove and bought some Sprinkles. As always, it was really good and did not disappoint.

Shot with a Knog Expose
Shot with a Knog Expose

Towards the end of the day we finally got a good rainfall in. I’ve always loved the sound of the rain on car roofs. We stopped at In’N’Out for dinner, and we eventually made it back home safely just in time for The Walking Dead!

Leave a Reply

