Spring Beauty: Mauve Colors & Fruity Scents

The first day of Spring Equinox is March 20th! I usually forget these things because most of the time the seasons just creep up on me, but not this time! I love the cold, I really do, but let’s face it; here in California we just don’t get real winter’s anymore. Did we ever? Meh. So when the Spring finally arrives, the weather will pretty much feel the same as it already does now. Onwards to Spring we go!

The Spring is all about feeling rejuvenated and fresh. This means getting that Spring cleaning done, decorating your home with brighter colors, letting that sunshine in by finally being able to open those windows and crawl out of your winter cave,  and maybe even changing up your beauty routine. 

I’m not one to follow trends, but I do admit, when the seasons change, it’s nice to wear complimentary colors that match your outfit choices, or brighter lipsticks when the Spring and Summer rolls around. I have always had a fascination with purples, violets, plums, lilac, etc. I was looking through my cosmetics the other day and thought that the plums would make a good color choice for myself for Spring this year. I’m also usually all about light makeup, so I don’t like to wear heavy concealers or always wear tons of eyeshadow.

I love this mauve/plum color in Essie nail polish, Island Hopping! Such a fun name. Essie has a lot of fun names for their nail colors actually. A friend of mine bought me this color as part of my X-mas gift last year. She is the same friend that introduced me to this brand. I had heard about them before but never bought any of their colors because I am actually really horrible at keeping up with my nails and painting them different colors. As you can see from the photo, I should probably redo my nails. It’s nice to have this color in my very small nail color family, though. I really need to stock up on more Essie nail polish!

I love that Stila’s liquid lipstick goes on as a liquid, but then turns into a matte afterwards. This color lasts almost all day! I love Bite Beauty’s Agave Lip Mask. I’ve written about it before here. This lip mask is great if you’re looking for more of a moisturizer and only a light tint for your lips.

Sometimes when I first wake up or when I’m ending the day, I will like to use my Trader Joe’s jojoba oil to act as a light moisturizer before I go to bed, or to help remove my make up the natural way. It doesn’t clog pores either! It can also be used on your hair. I like to use Lush’s lip scrubs to freshen my lips in the morning or before applying lipstick. I love the smell of mint, especially in the morning. It’s invigorating.

Since I don’t like to wear a lot of concealer/cover-up, I usually prefer BB Cream. Skin Food’s Peach Sake Pore BB Cream smells just like peaches! A great Spring time scent, and it smooths easily onto your skin. It provides a light, even coverage. I believe I have been using this BB Cream for 2-3 years now.

I have also been using Tarte’s BB Tinted 12-Hour Primer with SPF 30 for over a year, almost going on two, if memory serves me correctly. If you’re looking for more of a sunscreen protection, then I would highly recommend Tarte. I feel like this BB Cream still slightly gives more coverage than Skinfood’s as well. 

I have also been using Tarte’s Amazonian Clay blush for almost a year now and I love it. This product is also paraben free! Hooray for no added chemicals! 

I haven’t used a lot of The Body Shop’s products, but their body butters smell really good and if you’re looking for something fruity or Spring-inspired, take a look at all the selections they have! I love their Mango scented body butter. 

If you’re looking for 100% vegan-friendly products, Pacifica is your brand. I have always loved their roll-on and solid perfumes. This Hawaiian Ruby Guava solid perfume is a perfect tropical scent that isn’t too overpowering. It kind of has a nice floral after-scent as well.

I never use drug-store beauty products, but Miss Manga Voluminous Mascara is a rare exception! I have been using this mascara for almost two years I believe. Pretty much when it first came out is when I immediately grabbed it. I love this mascara! And what’s great is it’s only $7.99 on the Ulta wesbsite.

My Island Hopping nails match my favorite Disney Snow White mug I just realized. This makes me happy.

Space Bambi
Space Bambi

Here I am wearing Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Lip Tar and Cosmetic Colour Pencils. I’m coining this my Space Bambi look. I wanted to keep my eyes simple so my lips could stand out more, so all I used was my Miss Manga mascara and OCC’s colour pencil in “Feathered.” I am also wearing the Peach Sake Pore BB Cream with Tarte’s Amazonian Clay blush in Natural Beauty. It’s hard to see the red in the blush in this photo because I didn’t apply a lot. Plus, it’s not called “natural beauty,” for nothing. But it will actually show more red, depending on how you apply. This is a very minimal look and it’s not meant to be over the top, so the lip color really becomes the main focus.

I applied my Hoochie lip color first, then lightly dabbed on a few drops of the Rollergirl matte lip tar. You honestly do not need to apply a lot of this lip tar. It’s already vibrant which is a good thing. I love OCC! They are also vegan-friendly products!

Leave a Reply

