Day Trippin’

On Saturday, Rafael and I visited Santa Barbara for the day. It was a perfect day with clear blue skies. Once we arrived, we walked to Santa Barbara Pier and caught the trolley to Downtown Santa Barbara. Once there, we stopped around a few shops, including the antique shop, Antique Alley. For lunch we ate at Hoffman’s Brat Haus. It was our second time eating there. The food is so good, and of course I love their Belgium beer.

Their traditional Thuringer Bratwurst with cooked sauerkraut. 
Their traditional Thuringer Bratwurst with cooked sauerkraut. 

To go with my Bratwurst, I ordered the Grimbergen Dubbel ale. I love the plum undertones! I can never go wrong with Belgium beer. This might just be my new favorite.

I actually bought the leggings on eBay a few years back, but for those that don’t trust eBay, they have similar ones at American Apparel if you follow the link I provided. You can still purchase them on ebay for a much cheaper price here: High Wasited Faux Leather Leggings. The quality is still fine to me and I love these!

At Antique Alley, I became momentarily transfixed by someone’s old scrapbook from 1933. At first I thought they were diary entries, but I believe they were poems of a sort about someone named Jean. Who was this Jean, I wondered? They started talking about this Jean on March 17th, 1933. How interesting, considering it was March 21th when I started reading it. 82 years and four days later! The scrapbook remained unfinished and they ended their poems about Jean in August of that same year. This piqued my interest even more because I kept wondering why they stopped so suddenly. 

The scrapbook was only 5$ and I would have happily taken it home with me and continued to finish the scrapbook with my own writings, but it was very difficult to read their writing, so I felt that in the end, there wasn’t that much value to it, and I would just save my $5 and leave the mysterious scrapbook behind. There are other treasures to be found in the world. I am just happy to have read something that must have been someone’s private scrapbook from the year 1933. 

Shot with a fisheye lens on the Izzi Slim
Shot with a fisheye lens on the Izzi Slim

On our way back to the pier, Rafael and I stopped at the Santa Barbara Roasting Company to relax a bit. I ordered one of their coffees. I love cafe atmospheres, and the music they play is usually always on point.

Rafael wearing his Langly bag. Izzi slim fish eye.
Rafael wearing his Langly bag. Izzi slim fish eye.

Izzi slim telephoto
Izzi slim telephoto
Izzi slim telephoto
Izzi slim telephoto
Santa Barbara Pier. izzi slim telephoto.
Santa Barbara Pier. izzi slim telephoto.

Santa Barbara was so much fun. I have been coming here for trips since I was a little girl, but for some reason it just never gets old to me. Perhaps because I don’t go all the time, so it never feels dull, plus, I just love that beach weather and the relaxed vibe of the city. 

I hope everyone has a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

