A Mystical Exploration

On Saturday, Rafael and I ventured into the Los Angeles Forest in Valyermo and Pacific Crest Trail. It was such a lovely day with mild rain, and lots of fog up in the mountains/forest! It was too beautiful for words. I even saw a deer! By the time I saw it though, it was already running away. Still, it really touched my heart because I’ve never gotten that close to forest life before. Despite the fact that it was extremely cold that day as well, it was a magical experience I will always cherish. 

I don’t even know how to describe my first impression when we got to one of the trails in Valyermo. My breath was taken away. My hands were already starting to freeze and it was hard to hold my phone and take a photo, but I really wanted to capture this tree with all the twisty branches. I took this with my Izzislim case with the telephoto lens. I really really wanted to take some macro photos as well with the Izzislim case, but I didn’t have proper gloves at the time and that wasn’t helping my freezing hands. At least the moment was special and I was happy to be there looking around with my very own eyes.

Wearing my trusty Steve Madden Troopas! I love these boots.
Wearing my trusty Steve Madden Troopas! I love these boots.
Rafael using his phone as a remote to take our photo
Rafael using his phone as a remote to take our photo
Romance in the woods
Romance in the woods

By this point I could barely feel my hands and feet, but I tried so hard not to show it in this photo
By this point I could barely feel my hands and feet, but I tried so hard not to show it in this photo
Leaving the Valyermo trails (we never caught the specific name of this trail unfortunately).
Leaving the Valyermo trails (we never caught the specific name of this trail unfortunately).

Pacific Crest Trail
Pacific Crest Trail

Pacific Crest Trail
Pacific Crest Trail

As Rafael would say, “Caught Grammin'”

We ended our evening at Evergreen Cafe & Raccoon Salon in Wrightwood for the second time in the day. Before we stopped at the trails we enjoyed a hearty breakfast at the cafe. This time on the way back home I ordered their hot cocoa. After being out in the freezing cold earlier, it was quite welcoming and absolutely delicious. They serve breakfast food all day! They also have lunch type food like chicken fingers, fries, and of course beer, etc. I have now officially been there a total of three times, and each time the food and service is always great.

Time to say goodbye
Time to say goodbye

Saturday was so much fun.. Although I still wish I could have gotten more photos, I am very happy with the way the photos we did manage to take came out.  This cloudy day was simply gorgeous and truly breathtaking. 

[Photos of me, and self portrait of Rafael and I taken by Rafael. All other photos are by myself.]

To keep up with our photo adventures you can follow us on Instagram: 

@2071photo

@nicomichelle

Leave a Reply

