Tea Time With Nico: Teasenz Spring Arrivals!

Good afternoon everyone! Welcome to Tea Time With Nico! This morning I received my tea samples from the online Chinese tea company, Teasenz! I am so ecstatic. I always love receiving tea in the mail! I have also written about their tea before. You can read more of my reviews on my “Teasenz,” tag. 

List of Teas Pictured:

  1. Anxi Tie Guan Yin
  2. Da Hong Pao
  3. Himalayan Black Tartary Buckwheat
  4. Lapsang Souchong
  5. Tai Ping Hou Kui
  6. Liu An Melon Seed

I was so happy when Teasenz contacted me again asking if I wanted some more tea samples, but I had no idea they would send me 6 different types. This is great! I love tea so much, so it’s very nice to have a big selection of teas from the Spring and Summer seasons. If you look at my past reviews, you will also notice that their packaging is slightly different than before. I have always liked their packaging, but this new design is also pleasing.

Today I will be reviewing their Himalayan Black Tartary Buckwheat tea, also known as, “soba tea.” 

I have always been curious about soba/buckwheat tea, but I have actually never tried it before until now. This is why I decided to try this tea first. I was missing out! 

Overall Taste: Nutty and sweet earthy flavor, with what also almost tastes like slight honey undertones. Smooth.

This tea is definitely not what I expected, but I’ve always loved wheat type flavors, so I’m not surprised I really enjoy this tea. It smells really good! This tea also has no caffeine. 

Health Benefits: Contains vitamin B, which helps with metabolism, lowering blood pressure and decreasing cholesterol. Can also help prevent different types of cancers.

Tartary buckwheat tea is not related to normal wheat. Unlike wheat, it’s not related to the grass family of plants. While it’s consumed for hundreds of years in China and other countries in Asia, it’s yet to be discovered in the West.

— Teasenz

Recommended steeping time is 2-5 minutes. I steeped for 4 minutes. I was not disappointed! The color is a nice pale gold. I can’t wait to brew my second cup later today. 

I always like how informative the Teasenz website is. If you are overwhelmed by all the different types of teas and have no idea which one to choose, Teasenz always provides information on the health benefits of their teas, as well as the regions in which they are from. Sometimes they even include steeping videos! 

This letter was very heart warming to read! I am so honored to receive this letter and this beautiful leaf from an ancient tree located in Yibang, one of the six famous tea mountains! And from the founder, himself. When it comes to tea, it is truly a special and relaxing ritual for me to sit down and enjoy a nice cup, so receiving this special leaf from so far away is a very nice gift indeed. I am overjoyed! 

If anyone is looking for any quality teas, I would definitely recommend Teasenz. They have always been a good company, and it seems like they really care about their customers. I hope everyone enjoys their weekend!

xoxoxo

Nico

Leave a Reply

