An Interview With Trent Barboza: 21st Century Jack-Of-All-Trades

 

24240277049_12ac383f71_c
Trent giving visual direction for an upcoming project

Every single person has a unique voice. Don’t try to cater to a specific audience or compromise your style in search of likes.

-Trent Barboza

When I first met Trent almost a year ago now, he was immediately captivating in his expressive language and effervescent personality. We met at a birthday turned going away party for someone I didn’t even know that I only happened to go to by chance. We had a really good chat. It had been a while since I had been able to open up and connect with a complete stranger. Him and the group of friends he was with at the time all seemed like really genuine people, and to me, that’s one of the hardest traits to find in others. I knew that this was someone I could definitely see myself keeping in touch with or collaborating with sometime in the future. Almost a year later, we were able to catch up again, and that’s when I realized, I need to interview this guy. I want to start introducing a lot more inspiring and creative souls here on my blog, especially those that I get to meet in real life. If I feel their story needs to be shared, then I will share it.

When him and his friends introduced their podcast, This Is the Internet, I was really curious and excited to see what they had in store. Of course I was not disappointed.

“Jack of all trades, master of none” is a figure of speech used in reference to a person that is competent with many skills, but spends so much time learning each new skill that they cannot become an expert in any particular one.

The earliest recorded versions of the phrase do not contain the second part. Indeed, they are broadly positive in tone. Such a Jack of all trades may be a master of integration, as such an individual knows enough from many learned trades and skills to be able to bring their disciplines together in a practical manner.

Wikipedia

We are living here in the 21st century and there is so much available to us now. Most people have access to many creative outlets. But I personally feel that people such as Trent know how to find the balance and bring all these skills together in a beautiful way.


 

Interview

Me: Let’s start with the obvious question, why did you decide to start a podcast?

Trent: Well, from a young age I’d been fascinated with traditional radio shows which is probably a direct result of my dad being a radio personality. When I was growing up I spent a lot of time playing with the controls at various radio stations, etc. I always fantasized about one day hosting my own show, and thought about going into radio as a career when I got older. However, as time went on, I began to develop a passion for visual storytelling and put my radio aspirations on the back burner. Fast forwarding to present day, with the popularity of podcasts hitting an all time high, it was a no brainer for me to jump into the mix. I’m a sucker for good conversation, and I constantly found myself saying to my friends, “We should do a podcast.” So after months of going back and forth, I finally just purchased all the gear and pulled the trigger on it, and hence, This is the Internet was born!

Me: What do you love most about the Internet?

Trent: My favorite thing about the Internet has definitely got to be just how vast and ever-changing it is. It reminds me so much of the universe. Both are ever expanding and completely impossible for one person to fully explore. While surfing the Internet there’s always the chance of stumbling upon something that’ll completely change your perspective and open your eyes to a whole new side of life. I love it. I’ve learned so many things by just exploring the Internet. 

Me: It’s always nice to see that you guys always seem really relaxed and in sync when recording your podcast. You are obviously all really comfortable in your friendship with one another, so how do you and your friends decide on what topics you are going to discuss in each new podcast?

Trent: Haha thanks! The thing that’s great is we’re the type of friends to roast each other on topics we disagree on without getting mad so this really helps the dynamic during the podcast. A couple days before each episode we’ll get together and discuss what each of us feel were the biggest stories that week, and if at any point an argument arises, then we know we have a good topic. It’s a pretty funny process.

Me: You’re obviously a man with various artistic talents, so if someone asked you what you did for a living, what would you specifically tell them?

Trent: I’d basically tell them that I’m a creative individual that make things on my computer haha. I spend so much time jumping between Photoshop, Premiere, and After Effects. I’m surprised my eyesight hasn’t gone to crap already! Basically a 21st Century Jack of all trades.

Me: Besides the podcast, are there any other projects you are currently working on?

Trent: The podcast is really just a fun hobby project that we’re working on in our free time. This year’s definitely going to be all about projects for me. I’m currently putting the finishing touches on a mixtape that I’m super stoked for people to hear. I’m not one to adhere to any specific mold so I try to redefine people’s expectations with everything I do. So the best way I could describe this mixtape is that it’s a bit of 80s synthpop, mixed with indie guitar riffs, and rapid-fire rhymes. I wrote and produced the entire mixtape aside from the guitar riffs which were done by my friend Richard Rauda who’s in a band called Vista Point. Definitely check them out. I’m excited, the mixtape is already getting a little attention from some people in the industry that I highly respect so I’m excited! Besides that I’m finishing a script for a short film that I hope to shoot in April. So there’s some fun stuff on the horizon.

24581887776_1d5dafe80e_c
Trent looking at footage with his friend Drew @pendulumpivots

 

Me: I admit I don’t really know much about your field of work. What has been one of the greatest challenges, if any, you have come across?

Trent: The greatest challenge has got to be not comparing my work to others. With the Internet, its so easy to be aware of what every other creative individual is doing around you, and then it gets you thinking that your work just isn’t good enough. So staying in a good state of mind is a challenge sometimes but I’ve gotten a lot better at that. And I feel like it’s a great way to evolve as an artist.

Me: Is there a specific type of procedure you follow when editing video or does it all really depend on the footage and type of project?

Trent: When editing a video it really just depends on the project at hand but music tends to play a big role in a lot of the videos I make for myself. I absolutely love allowing music to set the pace of the visuals. I tend to cut on snares and use more upbeat or ambient tracks. 

Me: What have been some of your favorite projects to date?

Trent: My number one favorite project has got to be the “Fake Oscar Prank” that I shot at NewMediaRockstars. The entire experience was so wild. I’ve got a pretty mischievous brain so I love pushing the envelope and playing pranks. Basically anything to switch up the pace and keep life from getting too stale. We had a fake Oscar made that resembled the actual Academy Award then went around Hollywood trying to see how many people would fall for it. And strangely things got crazy and so many things happened. We even got through top level security. The video was featured around the world from Good Morning America all the way to morning show’s in Australia. It was definitely a surreal experience being a part of a viral video. Aside from that one I really enjoyed 

Me: Is there anyone in particular you would love to work with in the future, and if so, then why them?

Trent: Honestly, as lame is it sounds I would love to work on a project with Kanye West or Donald Glover (Childish Gambino). Both are multitalented and relentless in pursuit of their creative endeavors. I admire their work ethic and contributions to art so much. Say what you will about their personalities and what they say in the limelight, but their body of work is extremely impressive. Ye’ and Glover are so versatile and won’t settle for being put in one box. I feel the same way about my artistic pursuits so it’d be amazing to collaborate with them. And one not so well known artist I’d love to work with is Matthieu Bessudo. His art style is so unique and just amazing to say the least. 

Me: I was pleasantly surprised when I first learned you were also involved with music. Why did you decide to start making music and what do you love most about it?

Trent: It’s kinda funny because a lot of the things that I’ve really started pursuing 100% have come from my childhood. My mother paints and plays piano so she was always singing around the house and showing me different music that she loved. I started playing the saxophone in the 6th grade and learned music theory. But just like my radio aspirations, I put music on the back burner. A couple years ago I started getting back into music and started studying music production. Simultaneously I started writing and getting really experimental. My favorite thing about music has got to be how it touches a totally different part of your brain. Rhythm, and the way lyrics interact and relate to specific situations in our lives speaks to me a lot.

Me: List off some of the things that inspire you.

Trent: I’m really inspired by classic synth influenced film scores, ambient music, and neon photography. Whenever I find myself with writer’s block I’ll put on John Carpenter’s “Lost Themes,” and scroll through neon art blogs. For some strange reason that really gets my mind going to all sorts of places creatively.

Me: I know you love movies, describe what qualities a movie needs to have to really captivate your heart and touch your soul.

Trent: Movies speak to me on somewhat of a religious level. That might sound stupid, and believe me, I’m fully aware of that haha. But movies have helped me get through those tough “coming of age” years and so many bad days. In order for me to really click with a movie, it has to have a heart. The film has to have real, three dimensional characters that grow and evolve over time. People are going to hate me for this one but, I really am not too much of a fan of Marvel films. I can’t connect with them. Don’t get me wrong, their fun, but they don’t have that human touch. I’ve never left the theater feeling like I’ve learned something about myself or human nature. I’m always thinking, “yeah those fighting scenes were dope. But I wish something else happened.” With life being as ironic as it has been lately I feel like I’m gonna end up working on a large Marvel project just as punishment.

Me: Any advice for those trying to pursue a career such as your own?

Trent: The advice I’d give would definitely just to be yourself. Every single person has a unique voice, don’t try to cater to a specific audience or compromise your style in search of likes. Your passion for your art should exceed your desire for recognition. Besides that I’d say that you gotta seek out other people who are doing what you love. Connect with them and collaborate on projects, pick their brains, try to see life from an outside perspective because that’s what makes great art. Perspective breeds great things.

Me: I just realized I almost forgot the most important question! What is your favorite movie of all time?

Trent: My favorite movie is Drive. I absolutely love that movie. It spoke to me on so many levels. I thrive in the night, and despite my somewhat outgoing personality I spend a ton of time in my own head. So when I saw Drive I instantly fell in love. The internal vs external struggles of the main character, the symbolism, the 80’s synthpop influenced score, and the night shots of Los Angeles made me feel something I hadn’t felt in a movie in a long time.

24312502060_9fd29f2903_z

A visual artist, writer, story teller, director of photography, musician, video editor, and an individual who appears to be quite fond of cookies, Trent is a passionate individual that understands the meaning of searching within yourself to contribute your very best work and ideas to the world. He is someone that not only focuses on his main goals, but will actually take the time to help out others, especially his friends, in trying to meet their goals as well. He is not afraid to be challenged and understands that in order to pursue a career, one must work hard and continue to remain dedicated. A 21st century “jack of all trades,” has never seemed more appealing.


Photos taken by me on an iPhone 6s

You can follow along on Trent’s journey via InstagramTwitter, and Youtube.

 

24 thoughts on “An Interview With Trent Barboza: 21st Century Jack-Of-All-Trades

  1. This dude is getting into music now? I’ve seen some of the videos he’s been attached to and I really enjoyed it. I just wish he’d stay in one place for a bit because I want to see what he’s capable of when he’s not being so scatter brained.

    Like

    1. Yes actually. He has a pretty damn good voice too. Scatter brained? Hmm, I don’t really see him as that. He appears to be pretty grounded and versatile in all sorts of mediums. It’s great to have so much passion. He may not excel at every single one to complete perfection, but he is still very talented and has a lot of great stuff ahead of him in the future. Thank you for your input and for stopping by!

      Like

  2. WHAT?! You just got to meet him at a party? How lucky! I’ve been keeping up with his stuff for a while! Great interview Nicolette! I started looking at your Instagram. Very unique stuff.

    Like

  3. First off that was a wonderful interview. Second where can I hear his music?! I’m so excited to listen to that! Third what was he shooting in those pics?

    Like

    1. Thank you very much! As of now I don’t think he really has anything up yet for people to listen to. He’s still in the process of putting final touches on a mixtape, but not too sure when he’ll release it yet. But right now he put up a joke “trap song” on his soundcloud. It’s just a really short clip. https://soundcloud.com/toza-402329973/tracks
      The photos are when when him and his friend Andrew were trying to scout locations for a music video project he’s trying to work on in late January. I took some behind the scene shots when they weren’t looking haha.

      Like

  4. Dont let this guy touch a camera. Super overrated. Not sure why people give him so much fucking praise. He’s not a prodigy. Get over it. My friends and I are way better and no one fucking cares but we suck it up and go about life. We got a job like everyone else and don’t bitch. You and him should just get a fucking job get married and go be lames somewhere else.

    Like

    1. Nice email and username you got there. Clever. But let me guess, you must be apart of that hater posse Trent was telling me about. Or as your generation calls it, Squad. Due to the amount of ridiculousness of this comment, I’m not sure if this is someone just fucking around, or if you are a legit hater. Either way, you sound pretty young and I am sensing some major hostility and jealousy here haha. Naturally I have to reply back to this. Trent may still be young too, but at least he actually knows how to act like an adult. I also never stated he was a prodigy. People give him praise because they see he’s a lot more than just his talent. He’s genuine and actually knows how to connect with people. With that attitude, it’s no wonder no one has really taken notice of you and your friends, as you say. People like Trent do have jobs. Just because they don’t follow the social norms and have that normal 9-5 desk job doesn’t mean they have to be like, “everyone else.” It just means he has the courage and determination to pursue his creative passions by not settling for a “job like everyone else.” People like you and your hater squad need to understand that it’s not a competition. You have a lot to learn and I hope you eventually realize you should be focusing on yourself and not obsessing with other people’s lives. “You and him should just get a fucking job get married and go be lames somewhere else.” hahahaha…wow. Too good. Thanks for stopping by! Cheers.

      Like

    2. WHO ARE YOU DUDE! LET ME SEE YOUR WORK! OVER HERE TALKING A BIG ASS GAME! IF YOU WERE SO CONFIDENT YOU WOULDNT BE ANONYMOUS! DONT LET ME CATCH YOU SLIPPING.

      Like

  5. Is there any way you can put me in touch with Trent? What’s his email or a phone number I can reach him at? I’m looking to have him as a speaker at an event I’m going to be throwing in March. Would love to have him speak to our younger artists.

    Thank you.

    Like

  6. That was such a good interview! I’ve been looking for more info on him! He’s so so so so so cute ❤ Thank you for interviewing him. You guys should do a photoshoot so the world can be blessed with more photos ❤

    Like

  7. I’m so tired of this shit. Fuck you and fuck him. Lame ass nigga. Nothing worse than this type of try hard nigga. Fuck no.

    Like

    1. Oh, I’m sorry, I was so busy with my life I totally forgot to reply to this. Haters gonna hate. ;D Fuck me? For writing an article about someone that is doing something with their lives and not afraid to take risks? Nothing try hard about that. Okay. Thanks! Thanks for stopping by and have a great day!

      Like

  8. My biggest question after reading this interview is why does this guy have so much unwarranted praise? I’ve been busting my ass shooting for years and we’re probably close to the same level but no one ever notices me. Interview me yeah?

    Like

    1. My biggest answer is it is not just about skill, but about knowing how to interact and connect with others. I have no idea who you are, so I cannot speak for your work. If people haven’t noticed you yet, then it’s probably because you aren’t networking or connecting well. Like I told someone previously that was a lot more vulgar and aggressive in his comment on this article, sometimes you just need to take risks as well. Let me ask you some questions. 1.) How consistent are you? 2.) Do you take risks? 3.) Do you understand that developing relationships is very important in this type of field, and if so, what have you already done to network and connect? 4.) Would you describe yourself as friendly and nice, or closed off and not very sociable? 5.) Is your work just “work” or is there passion and creative diversity in it? 6.) Do you get out a lot or do you mostly find yourself stuck in the same routine? 7.) How many friends of yours can you say are doing what you do creatively? Sometimes, people need to constantly surround themselves and connect with other creative souls to help grow their work. If majority of the people you know aren’t doing much with their lives, sometimes they can hold you back.

      Thanks for stopping by and good luck.

      Like

Leave a Reply

